2017 American Library Association Youth Media Award Winners

  • Print


The American Library Association has released its list of Youth Media Award winners! There are a lot of good books you may want to check out so we wanted to save you some time and provide links to some of those books in our catalog. We've also got a list of many of them in our eBook collection!

Hope you will enjoy reading these great titles! 

John Newbery Medal

The most outstanding contribution to children's literature.

The Girl Who Drank the Moon written by Kelly Barnhill

Randolph Caldecott Medal

The most distinguished American picture book for children

Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiatwritten by Javaka Steptoe

Coretta Scott King Book Award

Recognizing an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults.


March: Book Three written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin illustrated by Andrew Aydin


Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat written by Javaka Steptoe


Schneider Family Book Award

Books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.

Six Dots: A Story of Young Louis Braille written by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Boris Kulikov

as brave as you written by Jason Reynolds

When We Collided written by Emery Lord

Pura Belpré Award

Lowriders to the Center of the Earth written by Cathy Camper and illustrated by Raúl Gonzalez

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award

Most distinguished informational book for children.

March: Book Three written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin and illustrated by Nate Powell

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award 

Most distinguished beginning reader book

We Are Growing written by Laurie Keller