Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in Congratulations

Posted on
Youth Book Awards Announced!

The American Library Association announced their Youth Media Awards this morning at 8 am EST. Awards included the prestigious Randolph Caldecott Medal for best picture book, the Newbery Medal for best book for children, the Geisel Award for best beginning reader and the Robert F. Sibert Medal for the best informational book.

Put a hold on one of these award winners today!

For a full list of ALA Youth Media Award winners, including Honor Books, visit the Association for Library Services to Children's website here.

Newbery & Caldecott winners 1986-2016



Posted on

b2ap3_thumbnail_017.JPGWant to watch 19 filmmakers debut their first stop-animation movies? Keep reading to find out how!

These filmmakers participated in Tuckahoe Library's Make a Lego Movie program last Saturday. They worked together to write the script, build their sets, and film and edit their stop animation Lego movies. 

They certainly brought their imagination to the program, with videos featuring a shark attack, a surprise birthday party, epic battles, and even a daring rescue from a burning building.

Click here to watch their movies.


Posted on

At the American Library Association's midwinter conference today, the 2015 Youth Media Award winners were announced. Here are some of the results.

To see all the winners, click here.



Winner: Dan Santat for The Adventures of Beekle: the Unimaginary Friend
Honor: Lauren Castillo for Nana in the City 
Honor: Mary GrandPre for The Noisy Paint Box by Barb Rosenstock
Honor: Jon Klassen for Sam and Dave Dig a Hole by Mac Barnett
Honor: Yuyi Morales for Viva Frida
Honor: Melissa Sweet for The Right Word: Roget and his Thesaurus by Jennifer Bryant
Honor: Jillian Tamaki for This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki