Drum roll, please!

  • Print

At the American Library Association's midwinter conference today, the 2015 Youth Media Award winners were announced. Here are some of the results.

To see all the winners, click here.



Winner: Dan Santat for The Adventures of Beekle: the Unimaginary Friend
Honor: Lauren Castillo for Nana in the City 
Honor: Mary GrandPre for The Noisy Paint Box by Barb Rosenstock
Honor: Jon Klassen for Sam and Dave Dig a Hole by Mac Barnett
Honor: Yuyi Morales for Viva Frida
Honor: Melissa Sweet for The Right Word: Roget and his Thesaurus by Jennifer Bryant
Honor: Jillian Tamaki for This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki

Caldecott winners 1991-2015 



Winner: The Crossover by Kwame Alexander
Honor: El Deafo by Cece Bell
Honor: Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

Newbery winners 1991-2015


Geisel Award:

Winner: You Are (Not) Small by Anna Kang
Honor: Mr. Putter and Tabby Turn the Page by Cynthia Rylant
Honor: Waiting is Not Easy by Mo Willems


Schneider Award:

Young Children's Award: A Boy and A Jaguar by Alan Rabinowitz
Middle Grade Award: Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin


Coretta Scott King Illustrator Awards:

Winner: Christopher Myers for Firebird by Misty Copeland
Honor: Christian Robinson for Josephine: The Dazzling Life of Josephine Baker by Patricia Hruby Powell
Honor: Frank Morrison for Little Melba and Her Big Trombone by Katheryn Russell-Brown

Coretta Scott King awards 2000-2015 


Pura Belpre Illustrator Awards:

Winner: Yuyi Morales for Viva Frida
Honor: Susan Guevara for Little Roja Riding Hood by Susan Middleton Elya
Honor: John Parra for Green is a Chile Pepper by Roseanne Thong
Honor: Duncan Tonatiuh for Separate is Never Equal