Skip to main content
 catalog   site

Back to Catalog

 catalog   site 

 All HCPL locations will be closed Wednesday, June 19 in observance of Juneteenth.

Library News

September is Library Card Sign-Up Month!

September is National Library Card Sign-Up Month, so stop by a library near you to pick up your most essential school supply. You may be surprised to find that your card gives you access to much more than books (although we have thousands of those too!). Register today and start taking advantage of all that’s available to you with an HCPL library card.

Read More

2023 Summer Reading Wrap Up

That’s a wrap on our Summer Reading Challenge! Thank you to everyone who participated and joined us as we celebrated kindness, friendship, and unity. It is incredible to see what we can achieve together. Read on to learn more about your collective accomplishments!

Read More

Fandom Read-Alikes for Teens

Our festival of fandoms — Fandomonium — is just days away! Not sure what a ‘fandom’ is? ‘Fandom’ is simply the term used to describe the community or subculture of fans around a particular interest. These interests can vary from sports teams, to music groups, to television, film, and book series. There’s a fandom for everyone! Read on to learn more about some of the most popular fandoms out there, as well as recommended young adult read-alikes from our collection. We hope you’ll join us this Saturday, June 24 from 1-5 p.m. at Fairfield Library for our Fandomonium event!

Read More

Audiobook Appreciation Month: Great Audiobooks for Road Trips

Taking road trips with the family is a time-honored summer tradition. What better way to engage the whole family while beating that “Are We There Yet” boredom than by listening to an audiobook together? June is Audiobook Appreciation Month, and whether you’re a new listener or an audiophile, we have an extensive, fun-filled audiobook collection to keep you entertained for miles. Read on to learn more about the joys of audiobooks, and to discover some of our favorite audiobooks from the library’s collection.

Read More

Fandomonium

Summer is officially here, and so is this year’s Summer Reading Challenge! Celebrate both by attending HCPL’s festival of fandoms—Fandomonium — on Saturday, June 24, 1-5PM at Fairfield Library. We hope you’ll join us for an afternoon full of drop-in activities, workshops, cosplay, games, and more!

Read More

Celebrate Pride at HCPL

Happy Pride Month! June 1 marks the beginning of Pride, a month-long celebration of the history and impact of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (questioning), intersex, and asexual identifying community. HCPL offers a variety of programs, some year-round, plus books and resources to support LGBTQIA+ individuals and families. Read on to learn more about upcoming programs and recommended titles from our collection to help you learn about and celebrate Pride!

Read More

Summer Reading Challenge 2023: All Together Now

Henrico County Public Library’s 2023 Summer Reading challenge, "All Together Now," is all about celebrating kindness, friendship, and unity. During last year’s Summer Reading challenge, the community read nearly 80,000 books. In the spirit of this year’s theme, the library is challenging the community to read 100,000 books together between June 15 and August 15 (pre-registration begins June 1). Read on to learn more about this year's challenge!

Read More

HCPL Tour Series #3: Twin Hickory

Our next library profile highlights one of our biggest and busiest libraries —Twin Hickory. Twin Hickory was born in July 2007 when the old Innsbrook Library near Broad Street closed its doors for good. Read on to learn more about the current Twin Hickory location and how its grown over the years!

Read More

Look Around, Look Within - May is Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month, and the library is offering programs for stress management, self-care, and mindfulness to help support your personal wellbeing. You can also access helpful information and resources on a variety of mental health topics through the library’s collection and databases. Read on for information about programs supporting wellness and mindfulness, books from our collection that address mental health, and resources with high quality information on mental health topics, all available free at the library this month and every month.

Read More